IRHA presents three awards at the 2020 Virtual Fall Conference

Posted by Heidi Malone | Wednesday, November 18, 2020

The Indiana Rural Health Association presented three awards during the 2020 IRHA Virtual Fall Conference! Congratulations to the honorees! 

Public Service  Award:  Dr. Kristina Box  

This award recognizes an outstanding individual, organization, company, governmental unit or other entity that has contributed to the public good and is a trustee of the rural health community.  This awardee has invested in the community as a whole through acts and services in the rural health community’s best interest. 

The 2020 Public Service Award winner is Dr. Kristina Box.



Rural Health Clinic Champion: Dana Stidham     

This award recognizes and honors an outstanding leader and promoter of Rural Health Clinics.  Dana Stidham developed emergency preparedness exercises and resources and served as a healthcare enrollment navigator for the Marketplace and Healthy Indiana Plan and directed the Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) Outreach Noble County Grant Project to enroll children and their families in  healthcare insurance.  Dana was instrumental in acquiring refrigerators for Rural Health Clinics for storing vaccines requiring  refrigeration.  She also played a leadership role in placing defibrillator devices in RHCs through IRHA grant funding to Rural Health Clinics. Currently, Dana is a Rural Health Clinic Consultant for Indiana Rural Health Association (IRHA) in which she visits clinics to perform mock RHC survey exercises or provides RHC orientation for new practice managers.  She plans RHC programs for IRHA seminars and conferences, serves as a liaison in behalf of clinics, advocates for RHCs’ needs, and serves as a resource for RHC questions on regulations, policies, and procedures.  Dana plans to retire from IRHA on December 31, 2020; and we are pleased to present her with this deserving award.


Lifetime Service Award:  Carole Kacius

Carole Kacius has served the IRHA Board of Directors in various capacities from 2003 to 2020, including Secretary, President-Elect, President, and Past President and only took the 1-year sabbatical between terms when required by the IRHA bylaws.  Carole brought a passion to IRHA’s mission, eager to participate at every meeting, anxious to serve on committees, supportive, and organized a student rural health association chapter on IUPUI’s campus.  Being a board member requires a high level of dedication and commitment to responsibilities, and we are proud to present the Lifetime Service Award to Carole Kacius.